Fun Program For Making Digital Music

 

Once upon a time, I used to have almost daily access to Mac computers. My favorite program by far was GarageBand and I absolutely loved playing around with different tracks, experimenting, and ultimately creating my very own music. This was about 5 years ago when I was still in Middle School. Since then I have continued making music, albeit on real physical instruments such as acoustic and electric guitars, and a keyboard. However after recently getting into electronic music (thanks to my younger brother), my musical self started itching for a digital mixing program. Only problem was that I no longer had access to a Mac and was now thoroughly a Windows user. To quench my thirst for electronic music making – enter Mixcraft 5.

Mixcraft 5 (among many other similar programs) has proved to be a great alternative to GarageBand, and works seamlessly with Windows. This program, developed by Acoustica, has countless pre-integrated tracks and instruments, but also allows for communication with a MIDI enabled instrument, microphone, and video devices. The application is user friendly, has an attractive layout, and best of all can be used for both audio and video mixing and editing.

So far I’ve been using the 14 day free trial but already within two days the program has convinced me that an official purchase would be worth the 70-odd dollars that the licensed version costs.

The one song I’ve composed so far you can listen to at http://soundcloud.com/anu-maheshwari . SoundCloud, by the way is a great website which allows users to publish their audio to the web for sharing. At some point, I think I’ll write a post about all the great Cloud-based web services which are currently available.

So, go try out Mixcraft and SoundCloud for yourself, and also take a listen to my composition! Happy music-making and listening!

Leave a Reply

